The social networks that I use (or not), and why

If you want to know a bit more about my thoughts on social networks, you can read “Social Networks from my point of view (as libre software user)“. This post is just a practical summary about the social networks that I use (and why), and the ones that I don’t use (and why).

In the beginning there was email

And I love email. Until September 2010 I was not using any social network. Just mailing lists, some forum accounts, and that’s all.

Still now, all the important things I share with other people in the internet, are by email.

Facebook? #grr…

Some friends of mine were using Facebook, but I decided not to use it. Well, I created a Facebook fake account, with no personal information and not subscribing anybody, just to be able to access some web pages there that were not public (but should be IMHO, e.g. ‘walls’ of the national radio channels) and I wanted to read, from time to time.

For social interaction, I just prefer to meet in other places (probably influenced by this post: “How I (don’t) use Facebook”).

My friends group see each other frequently, and all of them know my email if they want to send me photos, so we keep in touch with or without social networks. My friends said that “using Facebook was  cool“, but some months/years later, they began to not use Facebook either (too many friends, too many uninteresting stuff and so).

Some months ago I moved to a new house and a new neighbourhood, and the people in the neigbourhood use Facebook to coordinate the life of the building (we have in person meetings but we’re more than 150 houses so meetings just for the very very important things). I’m not happy about it (was so difficult to use a forum or a mailing list?) but finally I have subscribed to the group of the building with my fake account, and try to participate (not much, but the minimum for being a good neighbour).

Identi.ca (StatusNet) and Twitter

In September 2010 I began to study the Master on Libre Software at URJC, and teachers said that they were using Identi.ca and Twitter. I created both accounts and began microblogging from Identi.ca (under StatusNet), with the bridge to Twitter.
I liked microblogging (still like it!). It was a challenge for me (I write loong posts, looong emails…) and I met many interesting people in the identiverse. I read a lot about free software. I was feeling part of the Debian, F-Droid and Mediagoblin communities, and all of them had identi.ca accounts or groups. YAY!

I tried to follow people in Twitter only if they had no Identi.ca account.

I found that many people had identi.ca account but they were not using it. Then I followed them in Twitter. Many people followed me in Twitter too. From time to time I sent calls to my friends for coming to Identi.ca.

Google+

When Google+ was launched, some friends decided to use it. I decided not to use it. It was no libre software, I was writing my long stuff in my blog, and I didn’t see the need of another social network (coping with Identi.ca and Twitter was enough for me!). I have a Gmail account, so I created a G+ profile, hoping that some day Google would make G+ libre software, and then, I could be LArjona (as in identi.ca; didn’t like that I had to be larjona99 in Twitter because the larjona nick was not available).
When somebody adds me to their circles, a message comes to my mail. So I write to that person explaining that I don’t use G+ and inviting him or her to identi.ca.

Diaspora and Friendica

Then I learnt about Diaspora* and Friendica, but I decided not to use them either (although they were libre software, and I was tempted to try them).

I began to think about having a personal server where to setup my own social network software.

Identi.ca (Pump.io) and Quitter.se

Then the identi.ca migration to Pump.io came, and I began to try Pump.io, just to know how was going to be the future of the identicans, and try to help to make it brighter, if possible.
When the migration actually happened, there was no bridge from pump.io to statusnet, so I created a Quitter account to keep on microblogging.
And now, I’m microblogging from Quitter, blogging my looong stuff here, and keep on using Identi.ca for posting stuff somewhere between microblogging and blogging. And for interacting with the pump.io community, which is great and I’m proud to be part of it!

About larjona

My name is Laura Arjona, I am a libre software user and fan of the free culture. If you want to contact me you can write an email to larjona [at] larjona [dot] net I am @larjona at identi.ca in the Pump.io social network. --- Me llamo Laura Arjona, soy usuaria de software libre y fan de la cultura libre. Si quieres contactar conmigo puedes escribir a larjona [en] larjona [punto] net Soy @larjona en el servidor identi.ca, de la red social Pump.io.
This entry was posted in My experiences and opinion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The social networks that I use (or not), and why

  1. Pingback: Social Networks, from my point of view (as libre software user) | The bright side

Leave a Reply

