Completing a Windows 7 preinstallation with libre software

An Acer Aspire One D255E notebook came to my hands with a Windows 7 starter preinstallation (and dual boot with Android too, this I will explain in other post). The owner did not want to wipe out Windows, but complete the installation with free software so the notebook would be usable (main use: browse the web, watch videos, open email attachments, play music, transfer photos from camera, print documents).

These are the programs that I installed:

  1. First step is a libre software browser, so I downloaded and installed Mozilla Firefox. Of course it  will be the default browser.
  2. Installed Adblock Plus add-on to clean out the internet advertisements and pop ups, enhancing the web surfing experience.
  3. Downloaded and installed 7zip so we can [un]compress almost all the formats.
  4. PDFCreator will be our default printer!
  5. LibreOffice will be our office suite.
  6. I was going to install InfraRecorder but realised that we have no CDROM unit (ISO files can be opened with 7zip).
  7. GIMP will be our photo editor.
  8. VLC will we our media player.
  9. Will try Evince for Windows as PDF reader.

The notebook came with some games and an antivirus, so for now I think this is enough. Am I missing something?

About larjona

My name is Laura Arjona, I am a libre software user and fan of the free culture. If you want to contact me you can write an email to larjona [at] larjona [dot] net I am @larjona at identi.ca in the Pump.io social network. --- Me llamo Laura Arjona, soy usuaria de software libre y fan de la cultura libre. Si quieres contactar conmigo puedes escribir a larjona [en] larjona [punto] net Soy @larjona en el servidor identi.ca, de la red social Pump.io.
This entry was posted in My experiences and opinion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.