Master thesis about translations in libre software

This year I will begin my master’s thesis. I decided to learn and write about translations in libre software.

Libre software licenses allow the user to modify the program, so it is legally possible to translate any libre software to any language. This is also technically possible because we have access to source code, but also because developer and translator communities created internationalization guides, translation tools, collaborative frameworks, style guides, translation manuals…

Translation communities may have their own infrastructure and governance, and you can find multiple motivations for individuals, organizations and companies to contribute to the translation projects: reduce the technological gap, find new markets for the software, develop or practise language skills or gain reputation in the software community.

In my thesis I will analyze several case studies on libre software translations: programs being translated to many languages, programs developed in a particular language and how they approached the internationalization challenge, translation tools and web framework for collaborative translation (crowdsourcing), people involved in translation projects…

I created a branch in my git repo called “thesis” for all the thesis-related work, you can find my topic proposal there (in Spanish, PDF and LaTeX format).

Wish me luck!

About larjona

My name is Laura Arjona, I am a libre software user and fan of the free culture. If you want to contact me you can write an email to larjona [at] larjona [dot] net I am @larjona at identi.ca in the Pump.io social network. --- Me llamo Laura Arjona, soy usuaria de software libre y fan de la cultura libre. Si quieres contactar conmigo puedes escribir a larjona [en] larjona [punto] net Soy @larjona en el servidor identi.ca, de la red social Pump.io.
This entry was posted in My experiences and opinion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Master thesis about translations in libre software

  1. jpzafra says:

    Interesante, seguiré la tesis.
    Me has dado una idea con lo de publicarla mediante un repositorio, mi intención es también elaborar la tesis de forma pública, no sabia si hacerlo mediante el blog o gdocs.
    La mía va sobre web semánticos con el fin de construir un buscador.

  2. jpzafra says:

    Por cierto acabo de caer, yo hice un vídeo sobre i18n en Debian, si quieres mas info te puedo poner en contacto con voluntarios que realizan esa función en Debian y también tengo el correo de su coordinador.

    El vídeo es un poco malillo pero me sirvió para dos asignaturas.

  3. Pingback: My thesis (Translations in libre software) status: gathering information and some plans | The bright side

  4. Para traducir software te recomiendo Sisulizer – hay una edición que es gratuita

Comments are closed.