Reasons for using, developing and promoting libre software in Education

I work in a Public University as IT technical assistant. Today I received a Christmas card with this text inside of it:

“The principle goal of education in the schools should be creating men and women who are capable of doing new things, not simply repeating what other generations have done; men and women who are creative, inventive and discoverers, who can be critical and verify, and not accept, everything they are offered.” (Jean Piaget)

I think these are main reasons for using, developing and promoting libre software in academic environments. It may sound a paradox but I think that the freedom for modifying the software and create and distribute derived works fosters creation and innovation: less effort is wasted on writing from scratch (reinventing the wheel), more effort can be invested in creating new things or improving the existing ones. In addition to this, the availability of the source code of libre software allows anybody to inspect what is the program doing, and so, verify and audit it. So libre software promotes critical minds.

Richard Stallman explains these things very well, in my opinion. I find his words very motivating for anybody teaching software engineering or deploying software systems in academic environments. I hope you also enjoy listening him.

About larjona

My name is Laura Arjona, I am a libre software user and fan of the free culture. If you want to contact me you can write an email to larjona [at] larjona [dot] net I am @larjona at identi.ca in the Pump.io social network. --- Me llamo Laura Arjona, soy usuaria de software libre y fan de la cultura libre. Si quieres contactar conmigo puedes escribir a larjona [en] larjona [punto] net Soy @larjona en el servidor identi.ca, de la red social Pump.io.
This entry was posted in My experiences and opinion, Videos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.