Apache Software Foundation: roles and community organization

As part of my homework for the Master on Libre Software that I am studying, some classmates and me made a series of videos about the Apache Software Foundation. We try to explain the different roles in this wide libre software community and how the community works.

We were 4 people and we shared the work. Here you can find our results:

I really admire how the Apache community works in many senses, but I chose to talk about the projects because I admire most the following aspects:

  • The work in the Incubator, to welcome new projects coming from outside, in a professional way (examining possible legal issues, getting in touch with the existing community, giving a second oportunity to abandoned software).
  • The work in the Attic, with the “dead projects”. I think is a good metric of quality assurance inside an organization.
  • The incredible number of projects that the Apache Software Foundation takes care of, without having paid developers or other type of paid contributors.

I hope you like all of it!

About larjona

My name is Laura Arjona, I am a libre software user and fan of the free culture. If you want to contact me you can write an email to larjona [at] larjona [dot] net I am @larjona at identi.ca in the Pump.io social network. --- Me llamo Laura Arjona, soy usuaria de software libre y fan de la cultura libre. Si quieres contactar conmigo puedes escribir a larjona [en] larjona [punto] net Soy @larjona en el servidor identi.ca, de la red social Pump.io.
This entry was posted in Videos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Apache Software Foundation: roles and community organization

  1. Pingback: Estructura organizativa de la Apache Software Fundation | FLOSS Square in Freedom City

Comments are closed.