My experiences with KDE and other Linux desktops

I have to say that I was feeling attracted by KDE since the very beginning I started to know about Linux desktops. Before Linux, I was a Windows XP user, always changing the theme to “Windows classic”, and deactivating all the visual effects. Before than Windows XP, former windows, and before that, I vaguely remember using some X11 terminals at my former University (only for specific tasks), and text terminals for all the rest, mostly programming exercises. It seems I am getting old…

My first experience with a Linux desktop was using at job a Knoppix 5.1 Live CD (a great, swiss army knife distro) that showed a nice KDE 3. I liked it (KISS principle). Since version 6, Knoppix chose LXDE. I liked it too. I keep a 5.1 CD for old PCs and a 6.1 DVD for newer ones; I run Knoppix to repair broken systems so not much time to play or learn more about KDE nor LXDE.

At home I chose to install Ubuntu in my netbook. First I tried Ubuntu Netbook Remix, which comes with Unity, but did not like, and switched to desktop version that comes with GNOME. Later I tried to install KDE on top of it, but I did not like the experience: all the menus mixing lots and lots of applications from both desktops. In addition to this, my netbook became very slow so I decided to reinstall Ubuntu-GNOME again, and install Kubuntu in a different partition.

The experience with Kubuntu was not better: the “standard” KDE seems to be too heavy for my [small resolution + small memory] netbook and I did not have too much time to read documentation and tune KDE to make it lighter and adapt it to what I wanted. I was neither liking the Ubuntu aspect of GNOME desktop and also did not have too much time to play with it. While I was deciding what to do, I migrated to Debian, that shipped with a “classic”, “frugal” GNOME 2 and it seemed perfect for my needs (do the basic tasks without need to read the manuals. Yes, I am lazy…).

So now, as you may know, I have Debian stable at job (with GNOME 2) and Debian testing in my netbook (which some time ago switched to GNOME 3). When GNOME 3 came to my netbook, I tried to get accostumed to the new GNOME-shell for some weeks with no luck (I am repeat offender: again without reading the manual), and then I write a “pending task” in my mind about watching some videos explaining how GNOME-shell works, and meanwhile switch to GNOME-classic in my login screen. As you can imagine I still did not watched the videos. So now I have a strange mix desktop (GNOME 3.2 “classic”): for example I miss the “System” menu, and I cannot hide the menu bar and taskbar so my small screen become smaller, but on the other side I feel somehow comfortable and have my desktop shortcuts visible).

All this time I did not forget about KDE. It has some applications that I simply love them (and are installed in my GNOME-desktops): “PDF-reader” is an understatement for Okular (@tsdgeos I am not butting you up!). Even I installed it at job, as default PDF Reader for some computer labs with Windows PC, but later I sadly switched to Sumatra PDF because it is lighter and faster to install. I also love Kile, the LaTeX editor, and the video editor Kdenlive (well, about video editing all programs make me headache but Kdenlive is less painful for my multimedia “un-skills”). I remember to like Kate, the text editor (why is not installed here now? sudo apt-get install kate) and Amarok, the great music player (if KDE was not multi-platform, I know some Windows users that would shift to Linux-KDE only for Amarok. In my case, most of the time I am listening to the radio (not on the internet, the “real” radio), and I use VLC as multimedia player in my computers).

And here is when we arrive at… today. I have written a “pending task” in my mind about trying out light desktops for my netbook (tasted some desktops in Live-CDs: XFCE in Xubuntu, LXDE in Knoppix as said before, JWM in Puppy Linux, but none apart of GNOME in my installed Debian), and also make time to try out KDE in Suse (@zoumpis gently gave me a DVD, and I would like to try a strong, non-Debian-based community distro too), maybe whether in my netbook, overwriting the Kubuntu partition (it is still there), or at job, along with my Debian stable. Finally I would like to give it a try to KDE in Debian, and make a decision for my day-to-day usage before than Wheezy becomes stable. At job there are some Linux users and they use GNOME, so don’t worry, GNOME-lovers, I will keep it somewhere too, in order to, at least, give support “Linux-newbie” to “Linux-newbie”.

About larjona

My name is Laura Arjona, I am a libre software user and fan of the free culture. If you want to contact me you can write an email to larjona [at] larjona [dot] net I am @larjona at identi.ca in the Pump.io social network. --- Me llamo Laura Arjona, soy usuaria de software libre y fan de la cultura libre. Si quieres contactar conmigo puedes escribir a larjona [en] larjona [punto] net Soy @larjona en el servidor identi.ca, de la red social Pump.io.
This entry was posted in My experiences and opinion, Tools, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My experiences with KDE and other Linux desktops

  1. pues te recomiendo kde lo tengo instalado en una netbook con apenas los requisitos necesario para correrlo y anda de maravilla, dos consejos instala opensuse es excenlente pero kubunut a mejorado mucho aunque openuse sabe tratar con kde kubuntu tiene todo por defecto, y si tienes pocos recursos desactiva lo efectos graficos que igual kde queda muy bonito peor antes que nada desactiva opengl y usa xrender seguro te funciona a mi me funciona mejor que gnome 3, y desactivas todos lo efectos que usan opengl veras que quedas con los mas utiles.

Comments are closed.