Mozilla Hispano

MSWL Case Studies II subject have brought me the opportunity to meet some Mozillians: Pedro Garcia (Mozilla Support Spanish translator), Ludovic Hirlimann (Thunderbird QA), and Guillermo López (Firefox Spanish translator).

On one side I thought that I would like to meet more different people and projects, but today, thinking about this, I am glad because it is also nice to see some people together working for a common goal, you can feel that community spirit and also the good thing that many different people can cooperate and work as a team.

I knew something about the “Ubuntu people” to be very “fan”, but Mozillians show their proud too!

I took some notes from Guillermo Lopez’ talk, about interesting webs of Mozilla:

  • graphs.mozilla.org links to Perf-o-matic, some graphs about the testing and performance results of the different products of Mozilla (in real time).
  • status.mozilla.com shows a table with all the servers from Mozilla (websites, mail servers, test servers….) and their performance and availability status.
  • getpersonas.com allows you to change the “skin” of your Firefox browser in a very easy way, to many different designs.

In addition to this, I managed to watch “Code Rush” documentary about the liberation of Netscape source code, event which meant the start of the Mozilla project. I really really recommend it: you see the human part of a company, the fears of a engineer team working against the clock, and the importance of certain decisions that changed history of computing and the internet.

 

About larjona

My name is Laura Arjona, I am a libre software user and fan of the free culture. If you want to contact me you can write an email to larjona [at] larjona [dot] net I am @larjona at identi.ca in the Pump.io social network. --- Me llamo Laura Arjona, soy usuaria de software libre y fan de la cultura libre. Si quieres contactar conmigo puedes escribir a larjona [en] larjona [punto] net Soy @larjona en el servidor identi.ca, de la red social Pump.io.
This entry was posted in My experiences and opinion, Videos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.