My TODO list with GNOME

Despite of writing about KDE and beginning to admire that community (even I recently pre-ordered a Spark tablet with KDE Plasma active on it!), I am [still] a GNOME user. I decided like this when installing my computers, and I did not have time to change it. And it works, and it is easy (well, I have to say that at job I still use GNOME2 and at home I have Wheezy that has GNOME 3 but I login in the GNOME classic session).

It has passed quite a long time since Carlos García Campos came to the University to teach us about GNOME history and its community, in MSWL Case Studies II subject. In that time I was using GNOME 3 in my notebook with some pain (note to self: RTFM or watch the videos!). I thought about learning GNOME 3 a bit more, and also I was going to read about their translation platform, Damned Lies, and the interesting guide to localize GNOME to Spanish, that is a reference for many l10n-es teams. I did the translation part, but not the GNOME 3 part, and switched to the GNOME classic session in my notebook. New topics were coming to MSWL and I left this apart.

But Carlos is passionate about GNOME, and it seems that when I meet passionate people in libre software world, they put a seed in my mind and maybe not quickly, but soon or later I come back to think about what I learned and discovered, and do a second step to move into free software.

So my second step is to talk about what I learned about GNOME, and promise myself to learn a bit more about GNOME 3 and give it a second try before making my decision of which desktop I want in my systems.

Some curiosities about GNOME

  • GNOME is being translated to 175 languages. This gives an idea of its penetration and the size of its community (users and contributors). For comparing, Android is translated to 40 languages (but it does not have a great localization platform as Damned Lies, and teams with low barrier access for volunteers).
  • GNOME 3 is not only a new “appearance” of the GNOME desktop, but a totally renewed infrastructure for building GNOME applications (GTK 3). After the development framework GTK 3 was released, new applications are created and old applications are migrated to the new platform. That is why in the first times of GNOME 3 you may not find any difference or have problems, because not all the applications may have migrated to the new development style.
  • GUADEC is the annual Gnome Users And Developers European Conference and this year will take place in A Coruña (Spain). In 2011 GNOME and KDE communities organized the Desktop Summit in Berlin. It is supposed to be annual too, but I could not find information about 2012 edition.

Interesting GNOME websites

GNOME servers are hosted by Red Hat, except Damned Lies that is hosted by Canonical.

If you want to learn more about GNOME you can read the slides or watch the video of Carlos García Campos’ talk.

About larjona

My name is Laura Arjona, I am a libre software user and fan of the free culture. If you want to contact me you can write an email to larjona [at] larjona [dot] net I am @larjona at identi.ca in the Pump.io social network. --- Me llamo Laura Arjona, soy usuaria de software libre y fan de la cultura libre. Si quieres contactar conmigo puedes escribir a larjona [en] larjona [punto] net Soy @larjona en el servidor identi.ca, de la red social Pump.io.
This entry was posted in Interesting sites, My experiences and opinion, Tools, Videos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.