Spreading the word about F-Droid

As part of my homework for the MSWL Case Studies II subject, I had to do a video presentation about a free software project.

I am part of the community of F-Droid since I am a F-Droid user and try to help with the Spanish translations, and I think it is a project with a dynamic community and a promising future. So I decided to talk about it.

I already knew the application since I use it in my phone, and I am a frequent visitor of the website and forums, to learn the news about the project.

I gathered the information from the website, and also cloned the repositories and passed the CVSanaly tool to have all the git logs in a MySQL database, and get some statistics about the people involved in the project and the evolution since they started with it.

I wrote a screenplay (you can download it and will not suffer so much my bad English pronunciation), created a presentation with LibreOffice Impress (downloaded some images and made some photos to my phone showing the F-Droid screens), and recorded the presentation with GNOME RecordMyDesktop.

I had to record the video in some pieces and I joined them with Pitivi.

All the sources are available in my git repository, so you can get them and improve or re-distribute the video.

You can watch the video in my blip.tv channel, or download it in ogg format from my git repository.

If you use Android, I hope you like the video and join the F-Droid community!

About larjona

My name is Laura Arjona, I am a libre software user and fan of the free culture. If you want to contact me you can write an email to larjona [at] larjona [dot] net I am @larjona at identi.ca in the Pump.io social network. --- Me llamo Laura Arjona, soy usuaria de software libre y fan de la cultura libre. Si quieres contactar conmigo puedes escribir a larjona [en] larjona [punto] net Soy @larjona en el servidor identi.ca, de la red social Pump.io.
This entry was posted in My experiences and opinion, Tools, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.