New year plans on libre software

Happy 2013 everybody!!

Well it seems I’m not a University student anymore… Last June I finished my master on libre software and I decide to give a break on ‘official’ studies for now, but keep on reading, studying, researching and (I hope) increasing my contributions to libre software.

So here you are my plans for this year (it’s new year = perfect time for good intentions, but I can also say that I’m already working on some of them. Let this post to stay as a good reminder to keep on moving!).

Debian

  • Finally I began to translate for the Debian project, in particular, I’m updating Spanish translations of web pages. Very few files yet, because last month (and this one too) I’m without internet connection at home, but I hope from time to time I can do some offline work and upload it as soon as possible. My plan is getting more involved in Debian Spanish translation team and become a regular contributor.
  • I’m continuing cleaning spam in Debian-Spanish and Debian-Women mailing lists.
  • My article about installing the DNIe on Debian Squeeze is one of the most read of this blog! I will post as soon as possible about installing DNIe (Spanish ID SmartCard) and OpenDNIe (the same, but libre software) in Debian Wheezy.

GNU MediaGoblin

  • After the exciting and successfully fundraising campaign for the GNU MediaGoblin project, it’s time to keep on spreading the word about this great software for media publishing, and this year I will try to translate the website of the project and maybe some parts of the wiki.
  • I want to setup a MediaGoblin site at job for testing purposes (we have a small video website but it’s using privative software so I will try to show a nice, libre software alternative!).
  • And of course, keep on translating the software itself to Spanish.

More translations, more on translations

  • This week I began translating to Spanish the short essay “Freedom for Users, Not for Software” written by Benjamin Mako Hill. Want to join or translate it to other languages?  Join the project at Gitorious. When I find documents that I like very very much (mainly because they touch topics about freedoms in this new technological world, and make me think or they generate nice discussions between friends) I will do my best to spread the word about them and translate them to Spanish.
  • l10n-hackathon: I enjoyed the short talk that I gave at the MSWL Case Studies I class about translations in libre software, and it seems that the students liked it too. This year (maybe for spring/summer) I would like to organize a Spanish translation sprint on libre software for Android (for example, apps that we use/like from the F-Droid repository). The idea is to meet (in person and/or IRC) to learn the basics of how to localize Android apps (the reason of choosing Android apps is because it’s very easy and quick!) and spend some time together translating apps (if in person, with Spanish tapas!). If anybody wants to participate, please contact with me. If you prefer to work on a different project to translate, no problem! I will try to help as much as I can.
  • Since I read the blogpost “More diversity in Debian skills” written by Enrico Zini and Francesca Ciceri I am interested in researching about how to make visible/track/give credit to non-coding contributions to libre software projects (in particular, translators, but maybe other kind of contributors too). I am not sure if I will be able to put workforce in the programming side of this task, but I will try, and at least I want to make a tour around some (many?) libre software projects and gather information about how they welcome, promote and support their translators.
  • And of course, keep on contributing Spanish translations to the projects that I’m already involved: Debian and MediaGoblin as I’ve said, F-Droid, Mustard, aCal, LimeSurvey…

Other plans

  • Free your Android workshop: I’m suscribed to the mailing list at FSFE for the Free Your Android Campaign and I feel well-meaning envy when any group (in Berlin, Barcelona, other cities) organize a workshop to help people set their phones/tablets free! I promote libre software for Android (as part of the F-Droid community) and probably I it’s only a matter of FUD that I still did’nt liberate my phone (I think that if I do it alone, I will break it!), but I would like somebody to help me. So, anybody interested in organizing or participating in a Free your Android Workshop around here (Getafe, Fuenlabrada, Madrid)?
  • Promoting the University Open Access Archives (e-Ciencia at URJC, Archivo Digital UPM at job): I’m uploading documents about libre software (research papers, teaching material, student works) to the URJC Open Access Archives, to get permanent URLs for the works of teachers and students around the Master on Libre Software, and promote the use of the digital archive too. Like this I can help the University Library and get the information on the topics that I like available, searchable,etc. Look at our progress! At my job at the Universidad Politécnica de Madrid we also have a digital archive for research papers, thesis, student disertations… (and other open access sites as the OCW site and the “Colección Digital Politécnica” for teaching material), and I would like to spread the word about open science and these digital archives in the academic community at the ETSI Agrónomos where I work. I will prepare a set of material and upload it to our libre software website, and try to organize a set of small talks about these topics, probably for May. I hope many students and teachers begin to publish their works as free culture/open science!
  • Keeping on creating – promoting “community” around the Master on Libre Software, as an old student and let’s say, amateur researcher😉
  • Some other plans that I’m already working on but I’m afraid they are not totally public yet. I hope I can give news about them soon!

About larjona

My name is Laura Arjona, I am a libre software user and fan of the free culture. If you want to contact me you can write an email to larjona [at] larjona [dot] net I am @larjona at identi.ca in the Pump.io social network. --- Me llamo Laura Arjona, soy usuaria de software libre y fan de la cultura libre. Si quieres contactar conmigo puedes escribir a larjona [en] larjona [punto] net Soy @larjona en el servidor identi.ca, de la red social Pump.io.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New year plans on libre software

  1. Pingback: Debian Wheezy is coming! | The bright side

Comments are closed.