Participating in the FLOSS Survey 2013, and collateral benefits

I’m participating in the organization of the FLOSS Survey 2013.

I hope many people fill in the survey and we get a nice picture of how free, libre, open source developers and contributors are (demographics, motivations, etc). I hope we can provide nice data to the people that are still citing the 2002 FLOSS survey and report, and I hope I can write some articles about my particular interests on the data: women in libre software, and non-coding contributors.

We have near 1000 complete answers and we have extended the survey until December 6th midnight GMT. So, are you a developer or contributor to a free softwar project? Take the survey!

I’m learning a lot in this project. In many different areas: research, promotion, libre software, deal with complains, communication in teams…

Thanks to the survey, I have been able to get in touch with some software pieces that I didn’t know or I knew but I didn’t use so intensively until now:

  • LimeSurvey: I contribute translations to Spanish, since we use it at work (other colleagues, I just maintain the LAMP stack that is below it), but this time I am able to work with the tool as user/admin, so I learned a lot by using the program, reading the manual and searching the forums and the issue tracker, and I reported a problem too.
  • TitanPad: KISS principle. I love it. A place to post things related to the organization, so my mails become from extremely large to only large. Will install it at home when I have my server.
  • LibreJS: I didn’t look at it (heard about it though) until some people complained about this Firefox add-on alerting about non-free software in our survey. How can this be? Then I re-discovered that there’s not a standard way to make explicit that some software is free software, but the LibreJS people are proposing a way to fix that. That’s the problem that I reported to LimeSurvey project, and I hope I can get advice from LibreJS devs and try to provide some patches to other upstream libraries that cause false negatives too.
  • XChat: We put in the contact page of the survey website that people could find us via IRC, so I took the opportunity to be more present in my favorite IRC channels too (#fdroid, #mediagoblin, #pump.io and #social in Freenode, and #debian-es, #debian-www, #debian-publicity and #debian-women at OFTC). It’s not that I’m specially enjoying the software itself, but reading and participating in the conversation in IRC is being fun and I’m learning a lot from others too.

I would like to say thank you to all the people that are helping us to promote the survey. And of course, thank you to the rest of the FLOSS Survey 2013 team, Gregorio Robles and Santiago Dueñas, that gave me this opportunity and guide me in this new research experience.

About larjona

My name is Laura Arjona, I am a libre software user and fan of the free culture. If you want to contact me you can write an email to larjona [at] larjona [dot] net I am @larjona at identi.ca in the Pump.io social network. --- Me llamo Laura Arjona, soy usuaria de software libre y fan de la cultura libre. Si quieres contactar conmigo puedes escribir a larjona [en] larjona [punto] net Soy @larjona en el servidor identi.ca, de la red social Pump.io.
This entry was posted in My experiences and opinion, Tools and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.