Software Freedom Conservancy supporter

I think it’s important that organizations as Software Freedom Conservancy exist.
They provide a non-profit home, infrastructure, and advice for FLOSS projects. They take care that the will of the project members, choosing free software licenses, is respected by third parties. They care about “all the rest” so free software contributors can focus in improving the software itself. They have an agreement with the Debian community to protect the freedoms that Debian Developers provide to the Debian end users (and derivative distributions).

So I decided to join as supporter. I’m happy that this week there is a matching fund so my donation will count double.

I hope that many others join too, so the organization’s voice and action continues loyal to their goals and representative of all the projects (wether big or small) under their umbrella. This way (small donations from many individuals as funding model), no single or few actors can use their big money as pressure to deviate or block Conservancy’s action.

We free software/free knowledge contributors know very well the power that many micro actions can provide, when coordinated towards the common good, isn’t it?

About larjona

My name is Laura Arjona Reina, I am a libre software user and fan of the free culture. If you want to contact me you can write an email to larjona [at] larjona [dot] net I am @larjona at identi.ca in the Pump.io social network. --- Me llamo Laura Arjona Reina, soy usuaria de software libre y fan de la cultura libre. Si quieres contactar conmigo puedes escribir a larjona [en] larjona [punto] net Soy @larjona en el servidor identi.ca, de la red social Pump.io.
This entry was posted in My experiences and opinion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.